Tuesday, 22 November 2011

I'm no cheat, says Pedersen


Morten Gamst Pedersen insists he is no cheat after being blasted for his part in Blackburn's "illegal" goal at Wigan.

Presenter Gary Lineker likened Pedersen's actions to cheating when BBC's Match of the Day screened highlights of the 3-3 draw.

The winger took a corner to himself before crossing for Junior Hoilett to score Rovers' second goal.

But Pedersen says he believed team-mate Yakubu had touched the ball when placing it for the corner. The Norwegian said: "I thought Yakubu had touched the ball, so I took it with me into the field.

"I was looking into the box when Yakubu pretended to kick the ball and I only saw him doing that in the corner of my eye. I thought that he had touched it.

"Now I know Yakubu never touched it, but since neither the referee or the assistant referee did anything I thought everything was fine until after the game.

"If I had seen that he was never near the ball I would have just sent it in like I always do."

Striker Yakubu admitted straight after the game: "I don't think I touched it, but that's football. We rode our luck but we deserved our luck."

No comments:

Post a Comment